Uncategorized

All Consuming Love

“I would rather stand with God and be judged by the world, than stand with the world and be judged by God.” This is a quote from God’s Not Dead 2, and it happened to strike something deep within me. Reading through the book “Radical: Taking Back Your Faith From the American Dream” by David Platt, I’ve come to realize that I too have fallen into treating Jesus as though he is like me, rather then seeing him as the Jesus we read of in the Bible. In this sense, I have been little by little changing my perspective of the Bible in order to benefit my views on life too. Which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, until I make it more about me and less about El Shaddai. 

“You’re here because that still small voice inside you isn’t happy with the choices everyone wants you to make. All you have to do is decide whether or not you’re willing to listen…it is not easy, but it is simple.” I remember the exact night I prayed to El Shaddai, “This life is not my own but Yours, I give my life back to you.” Jesus gave up His life for me, and I must be willing to do the same for him. That was the night I made a vow to El Shaddai, knowing that this may be the hardest journey I’ll be on, but that it would also be one of the most life changing experiences. 

“I feel that God wants someone to defend Him.” There are so many different perspectives on the Bible, what the verses mean, or how a book in the Bible is viewed. Not that any are wrong, but many are not right either. I believe we are slowly becoming a world that can fall into deceiving themselves with the Bible, taking what they want from the Word and leaving out what they don’t want or even changing it to better fit their own lives and I could see that coming into my own life as well. 

I find myself wanting to have ‘radical’ faith, where I follow without question, where I read the Bible as it is rather then as I wish it was. I get that I am far from perfect, I am flawed and scarred, and I will continue to be that way. My hope for myself though, is to love El Shaddai completely and whole heartedly, in a love that is all consuming. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

